Surviving the bug and diggin’ the dirt

I think every woman knows when men are sick, the world is falling apart for them and they suffer a gazillion deaths. This week I learned that my little tot is on the way to become a man.

1. Last week ‘Timan’ was in creche (preschool) for only three days, for the first time in his life. And he caught a bug already. Saturday night he was a very sick little boy, suffering from THE COLD.

Ok, I agree, having a cold is uncomfortable and a pain in the neck, especially when you’re three years old. But all the screaming ‘Mommy, Mommy, hold my hand, stay with me, don’t go away, never, Mommy, Mommy’ sounded more like my Hubs when he’s sick (just change the Mommy to Honey). Well, the little one is a man in training after all.

2. This shows without a doubt, bugs are everywhere and just wait to jump on my tot. Well, that’s the way it is and I better get used to it. But there is a good side to every coin, isn’t it? The more often ‘Timan’ is coming down with a cold, the better his immune system will get trained and the easier he can handle getting sick later in life, or the more immune he will become to those nasty bugs.

3. Just look at me. When I was a child I probably had every virus on the planed that is causing a cold. But now, not anymore. These days, both of my men are getting sick, the big one on a regular basis. And me, I can be the nurse.

4. The Hubs was working on Sunday so the tot and I spent the day cuddling on the couch watching movies and I was the ‘nursie no. 1’ to my ‘oh so very sick’ little man.

5. And guess what, early Monday morning ‘Timan’ was himself again and started the day with decorating the bathroom with toilet paper and the cold was just a shadow from the past.

6. And because I’m desperately looking for things to do with the little one we did some planting this week. I’ve bought some seeds for kitchen herbs and ‘Timan’ was very eager to help when he heard the magic words ‘let’s dig the dirt’. But he did it very carefully and filled up the pot and put the seeds in.

If all goes well and he doesn’t I don’t forget to water the plants,

we will have basil, sage, thyme and parsley in no time. Hey, we are living in the tropics and everything is growing like weeds ;-), anyway, things are growing much faster here then in a temperate climate.

8. I’m already looking forward to a good old ‘insalata caprese’ (if I’m lucky and find somewhere some mozzarella), one of my favorites.

I wish everyone a wonderful weekend.

For more of those important lessons life is teaching you, head over to ‘Life Ever Since’:

Do you experience the same phenomena with your male family members when they are sick?

Posted on November 18, 2011, in 'Timan', Hubs, Mommy, Preschool, Sick and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. He looks so cute with his little watering can! Glad he’s feeling better.

  2. My boy was sick ALL the time it seemed in the first few years. He started at a day care as a 5 month old. Now he is in preschool, and I think the last time he was sick was in April – it’s been quite a stretch. I’m hoping that he has been exposed to a bunch of stuff and now has an awesome immune system. I hope!

    • It really does help the immune system, but I think it’s going to take some more years until he’s had all the bugs that are floating around. 😉 But he will get less colds when as an adult, for sure.

  3. Hahaha! I guess it’s universal with men that whenever they get sick, it really is the end of the world. I’m glad Timan is feeling better.

  4. Oh, I know just what you mean. When hubster gets sick the world comes to a grinding halt. Glad Timan is feeling better. I’d grow herbs indoors too… if my cat would stop eating them!

  5. That school and sick thing, ugh. My oldest started kindergarten this year. We all got pink eye. Hubby and I had never had it before. Ugh. Glad Timan mended well.

    • Luckily it was just this one day he was feeling bad and had some temperature. But during this time he was behaving as if he wasn’t going survive another day. The next morning he was his naughty-self again as if nothing had happened. LOL

  6. Number one is so true!!! I mean, I don’t have kids…but men are such babies when they’re sick!

Leave a Reply

