It’s Sweet Tooth Tuesday: Apple Mango Raisin Muffins

Those who are reading my blog probably know by now that ‘Timan’ has an addiction. The tot is literally living off and thriving from his 5 apples per day. Hence our stock on apples is immense. And I just assume everyone knows the common saying ‘an apple a day keeps the doctor away’. So Mommy is happy with this.

And you probably also know of my sweet tooth and my love for baking. Needless to tell you what I’m doing with some of the apples I’m able to sneak away from our little boy.

But he’s always catching me and just needs to give me a hand.

Job is done, muffins are in the oven, I’m cleaning the bowls but I can’t find my whisk. Where did it go?

Here it is:

Now we’re talking. First time ever the tot is licking the whisk. ‘Timan’ is starting to develop a sweet tooth like Mommy. 🙂

Apple Mango Raisin Muffins

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup (180gr) flour – 1/2 whole grain, 1/2 all purpose

1/2 cup (100gr) brown sugar, loose

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1 egg

1/3 cup (90ml) cornflour oil

1/2 cup (60gr) raisins

1 medium apple, peeled and cubed (without core)

1 medium mango, peeled and cubed

(apple cubes and mango cubes together total to about 200gr or 1 cup)

Method

Preheat oven to 180C/350F/Gas 3-4

Sift flour and baking soda, add salt, cinnamon and brown sugar, mix.

Beat egg, add oil and beat again, add raisins, apple and mango cubes and mix.

Make a hole in the center of the flour mix and add fruit mix, stir until all is moistened. Don’t overmix.

Spoon the batter into a greased medium size 6-hole muffin tin (fill up the cups, batter mounded) and bake for 25-30 minutes (test with wooden toothpick).

Let cool for at least 5 minutes before taking out of the tin.

These muffins are super yummy and delicious for breakfast, a healthy addition to your kids lunch pack or a tasty and nutritious snack.

Enjoy.

Apples and Mangoes are the two fruits we always have in the house, at least we try. Apples because of our tot’s addiction to them and Mangoes because of the many trees in our neighbourhood (and also because of ‘Timan’s love for them, who are you kiddin’). And raisins, well, these we have because of me. I love to snack on them while I’m blogging. And that’s why the ‘Apple Mango Raisin Muffins’ are the perfect breakfast/snack/whenever-muffins for us, put together in no time at all. 😉

What is the favorite treat you put together effortless from scratch?

Posted on October 18, 2011, in 'Timan', Cakes and Stuff, Hubs, Mommy, Things I like and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Those muffins look really yummy! Hmmm…. my daughter and I have never whipped up a treat together…. that gives me an idea for a bonding activity…thanks 🙂

    • My little one likes to help me in the kitchen and helping with baking is really easy, he can pour and mix as much as he likes (almost ;-). And when the outcome is yummy and reasonable healthy, even better.

Leave a Reply

