It’s Sweet Tooth Tuesday: Sticky Ginger Honey Cake

I love ginger, especially fresh ginger. I love the taste, I love to use it for cooking, I love to use it as a medicine.

When I have a cold I usually make a ‘ginger tea’. I chop an inch of a fresh ginger root, pour boiling water over it, add some ground red pepper and lemon juice and honey to taste. It really boosts the immune system, helps to sweat it out and soothes a sore throat.

When I was at the beginning of my pregnancy with ‘Timan’ and felt queasy once in a while, I was chewing on some candied ginger or sucked on a small chunk of fresh ginger. It’s also a good remedy to make you feel better in case you get easily seasick.

Usually we have a lot of fresh ginger at home, like everybody here in paradise. But the locals ‘only’ use it for the ‘cuisine creole’ and maybe for some medicinal purposes.

The Hubs and ‘Timan’ love it too. Just imagine how surprised I was when I found out my little tot was going for ginger cookies at the young age of 14 month. Since then no ginger nut is safe anymore in our house.

But the following cake has too much ‘gingery’ taste for him. And this is perfect, because there will be more to eat for Mommy and Daddy. 🙂

However, it doesn’t stop ‘Timan’ from helping.

Sticky Ginger Honey Cake with fresh Ginger

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup (180gr) flour – 1/2 whole meal, 1/2 all purpose

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

1/2  cup (100gr) brown sugar – loose

1/2 cup (125ml) honey

1 egg

1/2 cup (100gr) finely minced (grated) fresh ginger (no typo, I know, it’s a lot)

1 stick (115gr) unsalted butter

1/2 cup (125ml) water

Method

Preheat oven to 180C/350F/Gas 3-4

Sift together flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and black pepper.

In another bowl beat egg, add sugar, beat again and combine with honey, add ginger and whisk.

In saucepan melt butter and combine with water. Mix into ginger/honey mix.

Stir in flour mix and combine until smooth. The batter will be runny.

Bake in a greased square 8″ (20cm) tin for about 40-45 minutes or until an inserted wooden toothpick comes out clean.

Let cool for at least 10 minutes, knife around the edge before taking out of the tin and let completely cool on a rack. Wrap it in plastic foil and refrigerate it for a couple of hours.

The cake is smooth, very moist and ginger-lovers will be in heaven, because it tastes of … ginger and honey, of course. But I don’t think small children will like it, it is a little bit ‘hot’ for them, sorry tots. It’s perfect eaten right out of the fridge. Top it with some whipped cream or a cube of vanilla ice cream if you like.

Enjoy.

My tip: Store your fresh ginger roots in the freezer. They stay perfect for many month and are much easier to peel, cut, grate or otherwise work with when they are frozen. To make the ‘Sticky Ginger Honey Cake with fresh Ginger’ you simply grate the amount you need from the root and put the rest of the root back in the freezer.

Are you using fresh ginger for baking? What is your favorite ginger recipe?

Posted on October 11, 2011, in 'Timan', Cakes and Stuff, Mommy, Things I like and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I haven’t cooked much with ginger. This does sound wonderful.

  2. This sounds excellent. I love ginger & honey, what could be better?

  3. One day when I’m a millionare, I’m flying you and Timan to Canada so that you can bake for me and Chase.
    Deal?

  4. This looks delicious! I love ginger.

  1. Pingback: It’s Sweet Tooth Tuesday: Ginger Cookies « Mommy's Paradise

Leave a Reply

