It’s Sweet Tooth Tuesday: Papaya Rice Bread with Raisins

It’s one of the beauties of living in Paradise: Many fruits here are very rich in nutrients, vitamines and minerals. But the one I was eating all the time when I was pregnant with ‘Timan’ was papaya. Not only because it’s rich in vitamin C and A, folate and potassium, also because of the high amount of fibres. And I was eating even more of them after I gave birth. It was my nutritious way of getting back in shape. And to speed up my digestive system, unfortunately I had a little problem down there after all the pushing. πŸ˜‰ And fact is: it helped – a lot. Because it’s the source of papain, an effective natural digestive aid.

That was the past.

Now, three years later, ‘Timan’ is having one of his super-picky-eater phases when it comes to fruits. Not quite right though, actually he’s eating any fruit right now, as long as I am eating it. And lately I felt like eating mangoes, and not papaya. But …

I had a papaya ready to eat in the fridge, for days. I was offering it and he refused it, for days.

What do I do? Right, I bake.

Last night we had brown rice for dinner and I had some left over. Since I don’t like to throw away food, I try to do something else with it. Here we go:

But what would I do without ‘Timan’?

Papaya Rice Bread with Raisins

Ingredients

1/2 cup (125ml) olive oil

1 cup (200gr) brown sugar, loose

2 egg

1 1/4 cup (250gr) diced or shredded firm but ripe papaya

3/4 cup (100gr) all purpose flour

3/4 cup (100gr) wholemeal flour

1/3 cup (80 gr) brown rice, cooked

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp all spice

1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 cup (60gr) raisins

Method

Preheat oven to 180C/350F/Gas 3-4

Beat egg, add sugar and beat until creamy, add oil and beat well.

Stir in papaya and raisins.

In separate bowl sift flour and baking soda, baking powder, add salt and spices and stir to combine. Add rice and stir until each grain is covered with flour-mix.

Stir flour mixture into papaya mixture.

Bake in a greased 8″ x 4″ loaf tin for 55-65 minutes (test with wooden toothpick).

Let cool for at least 10 minutes before taking out of the tin.

I can’t get enough of this. Of course it’s perfect for the tot but it’s also perfect for an afternoon snack with a cup of coffee when ‘Timan’ is napping. Didn’t I tell you I was baking during the days I was ‘netless’? Just make sure you don’t spoil the keyboard with the crumbs when you’re blogging at the same time. πŸ˜‰

Enjoy.

If you want to check out more ‘good and tasty’ recipes or want to share one, head over to ‘Stay At Home Babe‘ and link up for the

.

And after I finished taking the photo of the Papaya Rice Bread ‘Timan’ urgently wanted to eat some papaya. Mission accomplished. πŸ˜‰

Posted on September 27, 2011, in 'Timan', Cakes and Stuff, Mommy, Picky Eater, Things I like and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. You know, I can never find good papayas at my grocery store. And it sucks. That looks heavenly to eat!

    • It’s difficult to get good ones if you don’t have your own tree or live in the tropics and get them at the local fruit market. But that’s for eating the ripe fruit. Maybe you can still bake something with it. πŸ˜‰

  2. Sounds delicious. I love papaya when I can find it at the store.

  1. Pingback: 5 Ways to Eat Papaya – Blue Skies

Leave a Reply

