It’s Sweet Tooth Tuesday: Wholemeal Coffee Banana Muffins

I have to admit, I have an addiction. Ok, I have several of them, ‘Timan’ and the Hubs are two of them, wine with good cheese are another two and there is one, that follows me from the time I was a teenager. I’m an Espresso lover and used to drink countless of them throughout the day, maybe one every waking hour, starting right after I woke up till the last one right before I went to bed. And I never had problems falling asleep. I think here is a caffeine junkie talking to you. πŸ˜‰

These days I’m still drinking coffee made with espresso beans, just not as often as I used to. I’m enjoying a cappuccino when I’m in town or a simple espresso at home, but very often I’m also using instant coffee, shame on me. That’s what happens, when you leave your home country, where all the real ‘coffee-lovers’ live, and venture into the big wide ‘coffee-less’ world. Unfortunately staff in holiday resorts or crew on board of ships, even managers, don’t get the real stuff. Sigh.

But to stick with the beloved flavour, I do some baking instead.

‘Timan’ doesn’t eat Coffee Banana Muffins, but he loves to make them. They are so easy, you’ll see.

The idea for these muffins I found here, but I made it ‘healthier’ by using whole wheat flour and brown sugar and I adapted it for my tin.

Wholemeal Coffee Banana Muffins

Ingredients

3 ripe small bananas

1/2 cup (100gr) brown sugar, loose

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup (60ml) extra strong coffee or espresso, completely cooled

1/4 (cup) oil

3/4 cup (100gr) whole wheat flour

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp vinegar

Method

Preheat oven to 180C/350F/Gas 3-4

Mash bananas, add sugar, egg, vanilla extract and coffee, mix well.

Add oil, mix until smooth.

In separate bowl add salt to flour, add baking soda.

Add vinegar directly into baking soda, allow to bubble just a few seconds, mix well.

Pour banana mix into flour mix, stir until smooth.

Fill a greased medium size 6-hole muffin tin 3/4 full and bake for 20-25 minutes (test with wooden toothpick).

Let cool for at least 5 minutes before taking out of the tin.

These muffins have a yummy coffee-banana taste, are light and moist, and in the morning they give you a good start for the day.

I’m enjoying them without anything added, other than with an espresso (and the usual glass of water) on the side. πŸ˜‰

If you want to check out more ‘good and tasty’ recipes or want to share one, head over to ‘Stay At Home Babe‘ and link up for the

.

It’s actually not so easy to find a good coffee flavoured baking recipe. My tip is use real coffee. The flavour is much better with real coffee or espresso than when you are using instant coffee. πŸ™‚

Posted on September 20, 2011, in 'Timan', Cakes and Stuff, Mommy, Things I like and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Those sound wonderful! And I love the picture.

  2. Coffee and bananas? Nom nom nom nom

Leave a Reply

