A sweet toddler giggle to end the day …

… or the other things life has taught me this week.

It started perfect with a wonderful Sunday. I was for several hours all by myself. The Hubs and ‘Timan’ went to visit Gromi (my mother-in-law) and the tot spent hours playing with his cousins on the PlayStation in the garden, while the Hubs was watching football and drinking beer working in said garden with his brother-in-law. Don’t we all love the crisp cool air in the mountains? Whatever, I had a great time too, staying at home all alone. 🙂

As the days passed, I realized certain things I won’t be able to change and some things I don’t want to change, ever:

1. ‘Timan’ wants to roughhouse. That’s ok, ‘Timan’ gets to roughhouse. But just not with me. The Hubs has to be his perfect sparring partner. – I’m a ‘Lady’, not a punching ball, for heaven’s sake.

2. Every time I’m in the shower, washing my hair, covered in foam, ‘Timan’ needs to go for ‘big business’ and is in urgent need of someone to lift him up on the throne. Of course this happens when the Hubs is still at work (he has a late night work schedule, sigh). No problem, I hop out of the shower, pop him on the seat and hop back in. And all he does is sit there, talking to the sink and playing with the toilet paper I usually forget to put away. No solid output, nothing. – But shame on me if I dare to tell him to hold it back until I’m finished with my shower. This would be calling for a disaster and his omniscient words would be “But Mommy, I’ve told you.”

3. I caught the tot ‘cooking on the stove’ – while standing on a chair in front of it. I was scared to the bone. Luckily nothing happened. Unfortunately he’s so cocky, he knows-it-all, can-do-it-all and my words are blown away with the wind. – Maybe I need to put the phone numbers of the ER and some Taxis on my speed dial.

4. We got back to napping after several nap-less days. I signed up for the help of mother nature (aka earlier sunrise), but ‘Timan’ still needs my patience, more patience and maybe even more of it. A bright bedroom at 6am wakes him up and he is tired by the time lunch is finished, but if I don’t add my cooing words to the mix until he’s falling asleep in my arms, there is no nap. – And no nap means a cranky tot by late afternoon and no quiet time for me.

5. I found the perfect beginning of ‘Timan’s bedtime ritual. We start with some laughter and lots of his sweet giggles, just nothing rough (see no.1). It doesn’t matter what is going to make him giggle, my tickling or a catching game while he’s sitting on my lap, he’s just giggling and laughing. Believe it or not, he’s falling asleep much easier afterwards. And to top it off, these toddler giggles are so sweet, they make me smile, no matter how crappy my day was. I only hope he keeps doing them for a very long time to come. 🙂

So you see, in spite of the rather humid and wet weather and ‘Timan’s still itchy skin, life is good in paradise. I hope it’s been good with you too. Enjoy a great weekend.

For more of those important lessons life is teaching you, head over to ‘Life With Baby Donut‘:

Life With Baby Donut

Do those sweet toddler giggles change your mood to the better as well? They just make me happy. I can’t get enough of them.

Posted on September 17, 2011, in 'Timan', Guy Stuff, Mommy, Sleep, Things I like, Toddler and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I love that rough play rule. The things we learn as moms to boys! Mine did something similar once with the stove, but he pulled the chair up and then proceeded to sit on top of the stove. Same as you – thankfully nothing was hot!

  2. Naps are a constant battle here too, but now I’m of the mindset of “Hey, whatever works!”

  3. What is up with them always wanting to take a power dump just as we hop in the shower?!!! Happens all the time!!

  4. A kid’s giggles are morphine to me… addictive, to say the least. I just can’t get enough of those 🙂

  5. Love this. Those giggles are amazing and can completely turn your mood around.

    • Absolutely. And I can’t do anything about it. But also when he’s doing something naughty, knows very well it’s naughty and makes any discipline measures very difficult with his sweet giggle. Sigh.

  6. I think laughter puts us all in a good mood and helps us relax after. I even think we sleep better. I am glad it works of you and the sweet little one.

  7. I love the idea of giggles before bedtime. Kid laughter is one of the greatest sounds I have ever heard.

  8. The sweet toddler giggles do change my mood. In the midst of frustration, after the 18 month old, spills his second cup of milk on the floor, he smiles, then laughs. His sweet, baby laugh melts my heart and my frustration is diffused. The giggles are the best.

    Such good lessons learned. Sweet photo of your little man. Sweet post.

    Ditto with the no roughhousing for Mama lesson. That’s what the boys have each other and their Dad for, though Dad tires quickly these days. :-))

  9. Those are some wonderful things you’ve learned. The one that I abide by here also is no wrestling with mama! That’s for my boys and their dad…I stay out of it!

Leave a Reply

