It’s Sweet Tooth Tuesday: Banana Oatmeal Bread

What fruit grows in the tropics and most people love to eat it? Maybe because of the many health benefits such as adding e.g. fibers, potassium, iron and B-Vitamines to your diet, or simply because of the taste? I’m talking about Bananas of course.

But here in paradise we don’t have the rather bland ‘Chiquita’-Banana that gets picked a very long time before you can actually eat it and arrives at the supermarket still green.

No, we are fortunate to have the tasty small or medium-sized bananas. And of course, again, we have many different varieties. One of my favorites is the red banana. By the way, it gives your liquid output a bright yellow color and a different smell, much like when you have eaten asparagus. ๐Ÿ˜‰

And of course there are the Plantains the locals use for cooking, for example boiling them together with Sweet Potatoes and Cassava in Coconut Milk to make ‘La Dobe’. It’s a very yummy and very rich desert, be warned. But often they add ‘Salted Fish’ (yes, uncooked fish dried in the sun with salt on it and this is actually the only time I’m putting on a very polite (but rather ‘forced’) smile and turn down a dessert.

‘Timan’ didn’t like bananas for the longest time. Only a couple of month ago he started nibbling on them once in a while. But I guess he’s not getting really hooked anytime soon, even tough I really like him to because of the many health benefits.

Still, he always wants to give me a hand when I’m baking.

There are many different recipes for Banana Bread or Banana Cake. I always try to make a reasonable healthy one, so mine has Oats inside. The Hubs and the MIL are in charge of the local version that is very moist, also very yummy and consists of flour, eggs, sugar, secret spices and bananas, of course.

Banana Oatmeal Bread

Ingredients

1 1/4 cup (150gr) all purpose flour

1/2 cup (100gr) brown sugar – loose

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 egg

2 egg whites

1 tbsp oil

6 ripe small bananas or 3 large ones, mashed

1 cup (75gr) oats, I used instant oats

Method

Preheat oven to 180C/350F/Gas 3-4

Sift together dry ingredients without oats, stir to combine.

In separate bowl beat eggs and egg whites, add oil and beat again.

Gradually fold in dry ingredients, mix thoroughly, it is a little bit dry, but this is no problem.

Add mashed bananas and gradually add oats, mix well.

Bake in a greased square 8″ (20cm) tin for about 40 minutes or in a 4โ€ณ x 8โ€ณ (10cmx20cm) loaf tin for about 45-50 minutes or until the top is firm to touch and sounds a little hollow.

Let cool for at least 5 minutes, flip out and let completely cool on a rack.

It’s really rather bread than a cake, it’s not very moist and has a light texture. The taste of banana makes it delicious on its own, but spread a little margarine or butter on it and you have the perfect starter for the day.

Enjoy.

If you want to check out more recipes or want to share one, head over to ‘Stay At Home Babe‘ and Alli ‘n Son


Oh, here is another tip: If you have unripe bananas and want to speed up the ripening process a little, put them away in a dark place for a day or two and they ripe much faster. But don’t forget to check once in a while, they will turn rotten sooner than you think. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Posted on August 30, 2011, in 'Timan', Cakes and Stuff, Mommy, Things I like and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I love banan bread. I always add some chocolate chips though. I’m slightly addicted.

    Thanks for stopping by sweet tooth Friday!

  2. This looks great! I am going to try it next time I make banana bread! I’m intrigued about the different banana varieties…red bananas? Interesting.

    This is my banana bread recipe. It just uses standard yellow bananas though:) http://twinisms.com/2011/03/16/adventures-in-banana-bread/

    • I didn’t know about the fridge, I put them in the dark to ripe. But I definitely agree with the dark skin. Next time I give the fridge a try.
      Btw I love the pic with the missing part. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I cannot tell you how dearly I love banana bread in all it’s forms.

    Unless it has raisins in it.

  4. Yum! This looks wonderful!

    I think shopping is great! I have just heard the grocery store is though. Yesterday I went to the post office, library, bank, drug store, and blogged a little in just under three hours. I couldn’t have done it with JDaniel in that time.

  5. Can’t wait to try this! I love banana bread, and I’ve never had it made with oatmeal. Yum!

  6. Ohh! I love banana bread. Wouldn’t have thought to combine it with oatmeal, but it sounds yummy!

Leave a Reply

