It’s Sweet Tooth Tuesday: Healthy Potato Orange Muffins

I like potatoes, I like them a lot. Any type of cooking or baking is ok with me, as long as they are not just peeled and boiled in salt water. You know, the type of side dish you eat with a good fish. I was never going for this.

Something I really miss from the country I grew up is a simple dish we call ‘Gschwellty and Chaes’ (small potatoes boiled and eaten with their skin, ok, some people peel the skin before eating them, and a variety of cheeses). It’s simple, good and tasty, and even healthy depending on the type and quantity of cheese. And you can easily add a salad and some yummy bread to go with it. Sigh.

Here in paradise I do ‘Gschwellty’ once in a while, unfortunately we don’t have the very best cheeses to choose from and the Hubs does not like it at all. However, I’m trying to get ‘Timan’ into eating and liking it.

And sometimes I just boil too many potatoes.

So what do I do? The next morning I’m baking muffins with the left over potatoes.

And again, no baking without ‘Timan’. He is very focused, as you can see.

These muffins are great for a light breakfast, they are light and smooth but not heavy on the stomach, they are just slightly sweet and have a hint of an orange taste.

Healthy Potato Orange Muffins

Ingredients

1/3 cup (100gr) unsalted butter, soft

1/2 cup (100gr) brown sugar, loose

2 eggs

1 1/2 cup (175gr) whole-wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 cup (250gr) potatoes, cooked and mashed

1 tsp baking soda

2 oranges, zest only

Method

Preheat oven to 180C/350F/Gas 3-4

Beat sugar and butter until light and fluffy, add eggs, beating well after each addition.

In separate bowl combine flour and baking powder, fold in wet mixture, fold in mashed potatoes and orange zest, stir to combine.

Bake in a greased medium size 6-hole muffin tin for 20-25 minutes (test with wooden toothpick).

Let cool for at least 10 minutes before taking out of the tin.

If you are on the sweet side, make a drizzle with the juice of 1/2 orange and 2 tbsp icing sugar and pour it over the baked muffins.

Enjoy them plain for breakfast or with the drizzle for a sweet snack.

If you want to check out more ‘good and tasty’ recipes or want to share one, head over to ‘Stay At Home Babe‘ and link up for the

.

Posted on August 23, 2011, in 'Timan', Cakes and Stuff, Mommy, Things I like and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. You are killing me with all your yummy baking! I keep meaning to put my banana bread recipe up, but haven’t gotten around to it. These look amazing!

  2. That sounds good and healthy. Love the cute sous chef!

  3. Ive never thought about making potato muffins but I will have to try now!

    My son is 6 and LOVES cooking too.

    • You really should, they are healthy, nourishing and don’t lay heavy on the stomach and so fast to make.
      If only my little one, still quite picky sometimes, would only eat all the things he’s helping to prepare. LOL.

  4. You always amaze me with your recipes. These are items I just wouldn’t have thought to put together! Thank you for sharing.

    • A recipe for a cake gave me the idea. The cake is with potatoes, corn flour and a lemon drizzle as far as I remember. I’m sure the muffins would also work with corn flour instead of wholemeal flour. 🙂

Leave a Reply

