It’s Sweet Tooth Tuesday: Wholemeal Eggplant Honey Bread

The other day, the Hubs came home with a bunch of fruit and vegetables. Enough Mangoes to feed my little monkey for the rest of the year (I guess it’s time for my super yummy Healthy Mango Cake before they all go bad), lots of lettuce and other greens for me (I love to eat salads) and some Aubergines. Ok, not some, but a lot of Aubergines.

Many people in paradise like to cook with oil, and again, not only with some, but with a lot of oil. And the preferred way of eating eggplant is to grate it and fry it in oil with some spices. For me it’s ok to eat this once every couple of month, at my MIL for example. But all these eggplants the Hubs brought home would go bad in my house with our still picky and moody eater called ‘Timan’ and the Hubs who wrinkles his nose on my pasta ‘con salsa di melanzane’ or potato-tomato-eggplant-gratin. So what do I do with the rest of them? A cake is in order.

Because whatever it is, if you put enough sugar and cinnamon in it, everything will taste like a cake. 😉 I’m serious.

I remembered the Zucchini cake a friend of mine used to bake and thought, well, eggplants are not exactly the same but they will do the trick.

‘Timan’ was my little helper, and put his full effort in, as usual.

To stay at least a little bit on the healthy side I used some whole grain flour and brown sugar and honey to sweeten it. And of course Aubergines or Eggplants instead of Zucchini.

Wholemeal Eggplant (Aubergine) Honey Bread

Ingredients

2 eggs

1/3 cup (80ml) Honey

1/3 cup (80gr) brown sugar – packed

1/6 cup (50ml) oil

1/3 tsp Vanilla Extract

2/3 cup (85gr) whole-wheat flour

1 1/3 cup (165gr) all purpose flour

2/3 tbsp ground cinnamon

2/3 tsp baking powder

2/3 tsp baking soda

2/3 tsp salt

1 1/3 cup (250gr) grated Eggplant (Aubergine)

Method

Preheat oven to 180C/350F/Gas 3-4

Whisk together eggs, honey, brown sugar, oil and vanilla extract.

In another bowl sift all purpose flour, baking powder and baking soda, add whole-wheat flour, cinnamon and salt, stir to combine.

Gradually fold dry ingredients into wet ingredients until all is combined and moist.

Gently fold in aubergine until evenly distributed.

Bake in a greased 4″ x 8″ (10cmx20cm) loaf tin for about 50-60 minutes or until the inserted steel knife comes out clean.

Let cool for at least 10 minutes before taking out of the tin and let completely cool on a rack.

Store it wrapped in plastic foil in the fridge for several days.

Enjoy. The cake is very moist and not too sweet, has a nutty flavor and tastes slightly of roses (weird, I know, I’ve never tried to eat a rose before, but the cake really tastes like the smell of a rose). I believe you have to let it rest in the fridge for a while to get the full aroma.

My Hubs surprised me one more time. He ate a piece, asked me what kind of cake it was and when I told him, he looked at me with big eyes and asked for another piece. So I take this as a sign of approval and a complement. 🙂

If you want to check out more ‘good and tasty’ recipes or want to share one, head over to ‘Stay At Home Babe‘ and link up for the

.

Posted on August 16, 2011, in 'Timan', Cakes and Stuff, Hubs, Mommy, Things I like and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It absolutely useful and it has aided me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & assist different customers like its helped me.
    Good job.

  2. This post reminded me of a tapas I just ate this past summer in Barcelona at Bar Lobo: honey-drizzled eggplant. It was AMAZING. Thinly sliced aubergine, very lightly battered (just teased) and drizzled with a balsamic/honey mixture. Add sea salt. It was melt-in-your-mouth.

    p.s. Love the pics of your little boy–soooooo handsome! 🙂

  3. Interesting recipe. I have some white eggplant growing in the garden right now. I wonder if this would work for it.

    • I would give it a try. I think it will work with any type of eggplant, if they are too ‘juicy’, have too much water, use less or try to ‘drain’ the eggplant, before you mix them into the batter.

  4. I’m never heard of eggplant bread! How unique. Ok, I’m not a good cook, but I might have to give this a try, because I love eggplant!

    • It’s really more a moist cake than a bread and I wouldn’t say you’ll find out it was made with Eggplant just by tasting it. The Hubs was not able to figure out what it was until I told him.

  5. Holy Moly! That sounds so good! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Seriously, how freaking cute is your little mocha baby? Can I steal the kid for a week???

    • Thanks and yep, absolutely. Especially when he’s having one of his naughty spells or one of his fits, I could send him to the other side of the moon (the UK?). But only in my mind. 😉

Leave a Reply

