It’s Sweet Tooth Tuesday: Healthy Papaya Raisin Muffins

Another fruit you will find in abundance on the island is Papaya. The other day I was asking the Hubs how many different species of Papaya he knows, he couldn’t tell me. I won’t annoy you with the names in Creole, but they are either yellow, orange, deep orange, almost red, some smell wonderful, almost like Kiwi, some smell and taste really bad, like something that has been eaten already by somebody else.

Everybody in paradise loves to eat Papaya Salad. And for this you use the ones that taste bad when ripe, but you pick them when they are still green.

I personally love the deep red ones, but most Papayas taste wonderful with a drizzle of lime juice on top.

After an initial short stint when he was about 8 month old our picky ‘Timan’ refused to even touch a Papaya when he was offered, until two or three month ago. All of a sudden it made ‘click’ somewhere in his head and he was all “Mommy, I wanna have a Papaya please … now … Mommy, I need it … Mommy I said now.”

But then again, another day, another mood, the perfect looking Papaya is left untouched and he’s into Apples or Oranges. When will I ever know this little man? Sigh.

So what do I do? I make something for me, myself and I, I’m baking muffins.

With the valuable help of ‘Timan’, as usual.

Based on an Hawaiian recipe for a cake I changed a couple of things to make it ‘healthier’. To bake a healthy cake, just double the ingredients for a square 8″ (20cm) tin and bake it for 40-50 minutes or until an inserted wooden toothpick comes out clean.

Healthy Papaya Raisin Muffins

Ingredients

1/4 cup (60ml) sunflower oil

1/2 cup (90gr) brown sugar, loose

1 egg

1 cup (200gr) diced or slightly mashed papaya

3/4 cup (90gr) all purpose flour

3/4 cup (90gr) wholemeal flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

2-3 pin ginger

1 tbsp water

1/2 tsp lemon juice

1/2 cup raisins (60gr)

Method

Preheat oven to 180C/350F/Gas 3-4

Beat egg, add sugar and beat until creamy, add oil and beat well.

Add papaya and beat well.

In separate bowl sift flour and baking soda, add salt and spices and stir to combine.

Stir flour mixture into Papaya mixture, add water and lemon juice, fold in raisins.

Bake in a greased medium size 6-hole muffin tin for 20-25 minutes (test with wooden toothpick).

Let cool for at least 5 minutes before taking out of the tin.

These muffins have a very soft texture, they aren’t really sweet, but not too spicy either. For me they are ‘comfort food’. And again, accidentally I saw the Hubs roam around in front of the fridge a couple of times and every time one muffin was missing. How come?

Enjoy them plain or with fresh papaya on the side. But anyway, ‘bon apetit’ we say in Creole.

If you want to check out more ‘good and tasty’ recipes or want to share one, head over to ‘Stay At Home Babe‘ and link up for the

.

Posted on August 9, 2011, in 'Timan', Cakes and Stuff, Mommy, Things I like and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Looks awesome!! I will have to try those.

  2. These look so moist and yummy!

  3. I ate a lunch hosted by California Raisins on Sturday where they put raisins in brownies and it was actually really, really good. At first I thought, Wow, what a way to ruin brownies, but it turned out to be be great. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Those muffins look delicious. I like Papaya, but only when it’s ripe. The problem is that I’ll buy Papaya and not know how to tell that it is ripe.

Leave a Reply

