What’s up with me, why on earth would I blog? {#SummerBlogSocial 2011}

Wow, 6 month and some days ago I posted my first blog entry. It’s been this long already? The last half year has passed much too fast. ‘Timan’ has had his belly issues, that caused himself, the Hubs and me much pain and headache, was operated and turned from a baby to a little boy. There were times I wrote about what happened, but there were also times I just didn’t want to write because I believed my thoughts were way to personal or I wasn’t able to write because I was at the hospital 24/7.

I don’t even remember the reason why I started the blog. I think it was a certain degree of boredom mixed with the need to leave something behind for the rest of the world and for ‘Timan’ to read in some 15-20 years, when he wants to know about our life during the time he was a little kid. But what I do know is that my blog has turned into an obsession, something I truly appreciate and would not miss. Even though there are times, I have literally no clue what I’m going to write about, like last week when I lost my Mojo. But so far these times were only temporarily. ;-) Yep, I’m keeping up the good spirit.

At the beginning I wanted everybody, aka my friends in Europe and the States, to know about my blog. But heck, I found out, in this fast spinning world they don’t  really care about it. Or maybe they are too busy and omnipresent on Facebook. I don’t know.

After a while I realized maybe, just maybe, it’s better like this. My blog is for myself, my parents (hi there 🙂 ) and the people I’m just getting to know now or in the future, but I get to know them from a distance. I think my posts reflect more and in a better way what I really think at this minute because I can to ‘talk’ to an audience I don’t know in person, complete strangers so to speak.

To get more readers I joined Twitter, opened the second Facebook account, joined several other communities (you find their banners in my sidebar), found other blogs, started to comment, people started to read my posts and started to comment on them too. The usual thing.

I realized there are some amazing people out there. I have no idea about their real life and they don’t know anything else about me than the things I tell them, but still, I know they understand the issues I’m having, the demons I’m living with and they are offering me a helping hand. This is amazing. Thanks to all of you.

So is there another reason than pure narcissism why I post about my life in Paradise with its ups and downs?

source

Of course there is. Other than the open ears and the help offered to my little problems I found it is more and more intriguing to let people know about things I love:

  • my son ‘Timan’ (pronounced ‘tshee-man’, it is Creole and stands for Little Man – it’s what you call a boy age 0-18 years when you don’t know his real name – but of course my little tot has a real name in real life 😉 )
  • my Hubs, quite obvious, or else I wouldn’t have married the man, right?
  • the things I like to do (i.g. baking and bitching, scuba diving and shopping, Syrah sipping and skinny dipping, …)

and maybe to get some response from readers who have the same interests or love to do the same things.

But in the end, I can’t say I have any other mission or goal for my blog than to entertain my readers and to ease my mind, my heart and my soul. I write about things that are happening in my life, like we say in Creole about a ‘tranche de vie’ (a slice of my life) and safe lots of money at the same time. Money that would otherwise pamper a shrink who’s having a spoiled rotten life already.

If you write a blog, what’s the reason behind your writing? What keeps you coming back to your computer to check out other blogs?

***

This post is for prompt #11: “What are your overriding goals for your blog and social media presence? How have those goals evolved over time?” of the #SummerBlogSocial by Liz from a belle, a bean and a chicago dog and Jessica from Four Plus An Angel, come over, check out the other prompts, read the other posts or add yours.

(p.s. sorry, I couldn’t help but drift off a little and write a little around the bush 😉 )

Posted on August 1, 2011, in Blogging, Mommy, Paradise, Things I like. Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. I think you have fabulous reasons to blog! Its pretty similar to why i started blogging 4 years ago! I wish you the best of luck in your blogging journey!

    p.s. Your little man is so freaking cute!

  2. The first person I knew to blog moved overseas for work for 2 years, and she documented that time away.

    I bet your family and friends living elsewhere appreciate your efforts!

  3. Entertaining your readers and easing your mind are great reasons to blog. I really like your blog, especially your yummy healthy recipes and adorable pics of your little man helping out in the kitchen.
    Do you still scuba dive? I dove for many years…then pretty much stopped when I got married and had kids. But I was really into it…PADI Rescue Diver level at one point.

    • Thanks, my chest swells with all the praise. 🙂 And the scuba, well, I stopped working a couple of month before I got pregnant and didn’t blow bubbles after that. But I miss it a lot. So you see, we’re in the same boat, Hubs and kids equal no more diving. I hope this will change when my son is a little older and we can go on family dives.

  4. Great reasons for blogging. I think we all have to do it because we want to or else we will burn out quickly. So glad you linked up!

  5. I love this post! Blogging has helped me connect to so many amazing people I otherwise never would have met. That’s what keeps me doing it, even when I think I’d rather not.

    • He he, sometimes I also think I’d rather not, but in my head floats this idea around and I don’t get my own peace back until I put it down on paper, aehm pixel. ;-). I believe everyone should do as he pleases, it really doesn’t matter so much what the rest of the world is thinking. This sounds a bit snooty, I know, but it’s true, isn’t it?

  6. I love your reasons for blogging! This post is such fun!

  7. Great blog! I actually know someone who moved to the Solomon Islands. She used to have a dive shop in Hawaii and she decided to move to the Solomon Islands instead. She opened up a dive shop, but I believe she also teaches the locals how to dive and how to run the business, so it’s really their business now. I get her email updates with amazing pictures! You’re fortunate to live in such a beautiful place!

    • Thank you. How small is the world, especially the diving world. I know your friend Liza (ex Dive Makai), she was a client on the liveaboard ‘Spirit of Solomons’ I used to manage in the Solomon Islands and is running a dive ops in Peava, a place in the Marovo Lagoon we used to pass through all the time. Superb diving, aww how much I miss it. I can only recommend you go and pay her a visit there. It’s a once in a lifetime experience.
      But now I’m living in the Indian Ocean, diving is not 10% of the place where Liza is, but I found my Hubs here. 🙂

      • Yes, it’s Lisa! It IS a small world! My dad met Lisa years ago, on Hawaii and they became great friends. In fact, Lisa had all of us (my dad, myself, and my daughter) stay at her house on one of our Hawaii trips. The only thing my daughter really remembers about it is Lisa’s dog MacTavish and her goat whose name I can’t recall. For years I’ve thought how nice it would be to go to the Solomon Islands and see Lisa, but it’s such a big, adventurous, expensive trip. Hard to imagine with a family of 4.

  8. Your reasons for blogging sound great to me. Blog because you want to, have fun with it, enjoy it.

    • Thanks. For me it’s sometimes a tool to let off steam, to put my thoughts in order, to maybe see the whole thing from a different angle. And it’s funny when you go back to old posts after a while, when everything has settled down, an reread them.

  9. I bet your Europe friends are here in France with me chicka! 😉 I thought my friends would be thrilled to read my blog too, but nope! So it’s all about the new friends I meet online.

    • You are so right with this. Ok, maybe it’s the language barrier (Swiss-German is just a tiny bit different than English), but they all went to school at one point in their life, they are all really clever ones and most of all, they all understand English. Sigh. So I guess you are right, they are with you (swimming at the Côte d’Azur‎? 😉 )

  10. Hi! I’m doing Summer Blog Social too and selected the same track you did too! I think you’re overall goals and directions sound great!

    Blogging really does help save on the therapy bills, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

