It’s Sweet Tooth Tuesday: Healthy Carrot Muffins

Luckily I’m married to the Hubs, he is a wizard in the kitchen, the Creole Kitchen that is. He’s the type of man who is cooking with his heart, he never uses a cookbook, he just assembles what we have in the house and the outcome is always perfect. Ok, maybe a tick on the spicy side and he had to change this habit because of ‘Timan’. Every time he’s off, it’s my man who is preparing the dinner and I get to do the dishes. Fair trade.

Let me get this straight, I’m not the natural-born cook, but I do have a sweet tooth. I like sweets, cookies, cakes, pies, you name it.

Since ‘Timan’ is with us I try to make ‘healthy’ sweet things. But I shouldn’t worry too much because neither the tot, nor the hubs go for sweets the way I do. Hmm, I don’t have a problem with this. 🙂

‘Timan’ likes to help though, something else to keep him busy for a while. And he’s right under my eyes, no way he can get into trouble.

Today I’m sharing with you one of the muffin recipes I picked up somewhere in the past, I have no idea where and when, I guess I have changed it a little too. I love to do muffins because they only take about 20 minutes in the oven, so I get to eat them soon.

Healthy Carrot Muffins

Ingredients

1 cup (125gr) flour – 1/2 whole meal flour, 1/2 all purpose flour

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup (90gr) brown sugar – loose (or a little less, depending on your sweet tooth)

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 egg

3 1/2 oz (100ml) oil, pick a ‘healthy’ one

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup shredded carrots (2 medium carrots)

1/4 cup sultanas (optional)

Method

Preheat oven to 180C/350F/Gas 3-4

Sift together dry ingredients, stir to combine.

Beat egg, oil and vanilla extract, add carrots and sultanas and stir to combine (usually I skip the sultanas).

Gradually fold in dry ingredients, don’t overmix.

Bake in a greased medium size 6-hole muffin tin for 20-25 minutes.

Let cool for at least 5 minutes before taking out of the tin. You can store them in an airtight container for up to five days.

Put your airtight container in the fridge for a couple of hours and the muffins taste divine. It’s the same thing as with carrot cake that tastes better the day after.

Enjoy. And in case you want to be a little naughty, have them with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.

If you want to check out more ‘good and tasty’ recipes or want to share one, head over to ‘Stay At Home Babe‘ and link up for the

.

Posted on July 26, 2011, in 'Timan', Cakes and Stuff, Mommy, Things I like and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I have been looking for some carrot bread, so I’m going to try these and sub with a gluten-free flour mix. I’ll let you know how it goes! Thanks for the recipe! I wish I could swap places with you right now – we’re up in Canada and had snow today. Oh how I long for a nice warm beach and a light breeze!

    • But snow is nice this time of the year, you might have a white Xmas. I miss that, it’s really weird when you see Christmas decoration everywhere and it’s over 90F.
      I never tried the carrot muffins with anything other than wheat flour, but I’d be happy to learn if it worked with gluten-free flour.

  2. Looks delicious! And healthy. I have a sweet tooth too. I love that photo of your son. 🙂

  3. YUM! I love anything that combines carrots and carbs. Though I have to admit, I’d really want to throw some cream cheese frosting on those. Not so healthy – but YUMMY!! 🙂

  4. I am a baked Goods kinda girl myself! These look yummy

  5. OMG, those look so good! I’ve been trying to lay off bread products lately and I kinda want to eat that whole plate! Nom nom nom nom. I love pastries with hidden veggies. So good for the kiddos.

  6. Those look Yummy! Timan is so cute!

  1. Pingback: I need my Mojo back, where did it go? « Mommy's Paradise

Leave a Reply

