On new grounds

Do you know the area you are living in?ย  Depending on the period of time you are living there and the time you spent to explore it you may, or be honest, you might not.

In my case, I certainly don’t know every place. We are living on the main island (one of the inner islands) since 4 years, before I spent one year on a tiny outer island and a about half a year on a liveaboard travelling the outer islands all the way down to Aldabra. I actually know more about the outer islands than most natives living on the main island.

That’s why we spent our recent day of PFBF (Paradise-Family-Beach-Fun) on one of the other inner islands. We didn’t go swimming, even though it was very tempting. But only feasible if you have a place to stay and rinse off the salt and sand, otherwise you end up with a big blister where it really hurts. But enough talking, come and join us on our trip.

Early morning we got on the high-speed-ferry to the next island, switched to another ferry and arrived on our destination roughly two hours later. On this island there are no cars, no motorised transportation besides a couple of taxis. Everybody is using bicycles or is sitting on an Ox cart.

So we grabbed rented our bikes and set off for an exploration, a little bit like tourists. But that’s the way life is in a tourist destination. ๐Ÿ˜‰

All of the inner islands are granite islands and this island is one of the most beautiful ones, mainly because of the picturesque granite rock formations. We went to check out ‘Anse la Source a Jean’, a beach of course, as if we had none of those on our home-island.

.

.

.

.

On our way we met this guy, maybe a distant cousin to the Tortoise living in our garden, who knows.

We grabbed a bite to eat and kept going, up the hill, and down the hill to the next beach, Grand Anse.

Even ‘Timan’ was getting scared impressed by the waves.

There are always big waves and dangerous currents here, nobody should swim out far and it’s definitely not a place where you let a little tot play in the water.

On our way back we passed old abandoned houses like this one:

I have to admit, at this point I had a serious problem and I could feel every nerve in my behind. So much about the comfort of a rental bike when the last time I rode a bike was half a decade ago. But I’m a Mommy, I don’t know the word pain. ๐Ÿ˜‰

On the other side of the island were less waves but the sun was more cruel burning down on us. By now it was mid afternoon and just a tiny little bit hot.

And the Hubs pedaled and pedaled. What else was I to do but follow my men. We passed more palm trees and more granite rocks until even my Hubs had enough.

Time to turn around and head back to the jetty, where a cold beer was waiting for us and a glass of fresh passionfruit juice for ‘Timan’.

When we reached the main island, our little tot was fast asleep.

I’m sure you are doing day-trips with your family too. What are you doing? Are you going to the zoo or a theme park? Tell me about it, we don’t have this here and I’d like to know. As always, I’m curious.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Do you like this post?

Then vote for me,

just click on the link below:

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me!

Thanks for your support.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

.

Linked up with Adventures in Mommyhood, hop over and link up your favorite post of the week:

Posted on June 18, 2011, in 'Timan', Animals, Beach, Family, Hubs, Means of Transportation, Mommy, Paradise, PFBF (Paradise-Family-Beach-Fun), Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Looks like paradise to me. I’m laughing at the ox carts though.

  2. Wowsers! What an amazing place to explore. Breathtaking scenery. Thanks for shraing your pics and linking up to WW!

  3. What beautiful photos and such a great adventure! I’d love to visit there! Wow.

    • Thank you, it truly is beautiful there, but also on the island we are living, the main island. This is definitely one of the reasons I stayed in this corner of the earth. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Oh what amazing adventures you have! Your pictures are so beautiful!!

  5. Gorgeous, gorgeous pictures! The stuff dream vacations are made of!

  6. Aw, the last one is so precious. I’m getting to the point where I can hardly carry L, he’s getting so big ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. Wow! Looks like you all had a blast, Timan included. We haven’t been doing much around here, just visiting the local creek and enjoying outdoor activities here at home.

  8. Those pictures are great and it looks like a fun day. It would have been so hard for me to resist swimming.

  9. That last shot is so sweet!

    You live in a beautiful place. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Wow! What great pictures!

  11. This is my idea of paradise… what an amazing day!

  1. Pingback: Ultimate Blog Party 2012 {#UBP12) « Mommy's Paradise

Leave a Reply

