It’s so hot here – off to Gromi’s we go!

It’s hot in paradise. I mean really hot, you know, the humid type of hot. We still have rainy season, northeast monsoon, and sometimes not much wind and when there is, it’s a hot one heated up over the ocean.

Every morning I wake up, not because ‘Timan’ is pulling on my leg, no. I’m waking up because I feel hot. At 6:30 it’s about 28C/82F and the temperature rises to an average of 32C/90F around 3pm. Not bad you say? No, it’s not bad at all, I’m not complaining. I love it, well, most of the time. But Hubs is complaining. He doesn’t like it at all. So he’s quietly sweating (and suffering?) while I feel at ease. Let’s be honest, the temperature is one of the reasons why I like living here.

But sometimes, when the going gets tough, or the hot gets really hot, we escape. Like we did yesterday. And off to Gromi’s we go.

Gromi {pronounced ‘Gromee’} is Hubs’ mother, ‘Timan’s grandmother, and she’s living way up in the ‘cold’, in the mountains and at certain times of the year, during southwest monsoon, it’s getting real cold up there. But now, during the rainy season it’s just a couple of degrees less, but they make all the difference and there is always a nice breeze.

So Hubs, ‘Timan’ and I spent Easter Sunday eating good traditional creole dishes at my mother in law’s. ‘Timan’ is always surprising me when he’s eating somewhere else but at home. No picky eating anymore, he’s digging in, same as everybody else.

I don’t think it’s my cooking (even though I know it’s not the best). As soon as we are home, and eat some leftovers from the feast, he’s turning his nose up on them. Back to normal (toddler)mood. So it has to be the place and the company.

But one thing, one major thing, is different here on Easter Sunday.

Easter in paradise is not like Easter in the real world with lots of colored eggs and Easter baskets the kids have to find in the garden and unfortunately there are no chocolate eggs and no chocolate Easter bunnies at all. They are simply non-existent here. I figured it’s either because of the heat (we all have a fridge though 😉 ), or because the government has decided the people have to lose weight (!?! the banana republic thing), but I’m not sure. But I do know that I miss it. I miss it a lot. I’m coming from the ‘chocolate country’, do you remember? And in time I will start our own little Easter tradition, with coloring eggs and such, just for ‘Timan’. But he will have to miss out on the bunnies, unfortunately.

However yesterday our ‘Timan’ found another thing he enjoyed to do, inspired by his older cousins. To my surprise I found him doing this:

and he was highly concentrated ‘flying’ this:

constantly repeating ‘ouhou0h, it’s gonna crash, it’s gonna crash, ups, it crashed’.

I’m not sure if I will let him venture into the world of PlayStation at home as of yet, but I realize it’s just going to be a matter of time.

In the meantime I’m happy he also likes to fool around with his cousins and play football with Gromi or one of his aunts.

And the last thing I really like up in the mountains, with a glass of wine in one and my Hubs on the other hand, is watching this:

I hope all of you spent a wonderful Easter (with lots of chocolate bunnies ;-)).

Posted on April 25, 2011, in 'Timan', Chocolate, Family, Government, Hubs, Mommy, Northeast Monsoon, Paradise, Picky Eater, Tradition and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. My z-baby is a wonderful eater, too… as long as it’s not with me!!! It think he really digs the social aspect of having others around.

  2. I am not a fan of the cold so warm weather sounds good to me. I really don’t think I could live somewhere without chocolate bunnies.

  3. This sounds like a lovely Easter, even without the chocolate. I’m glad you guys had a nice day with family. And that the little man discovered video games. 🙂 Especially since I know you aren’t worried about him playing games all day long!

    • Yep, I guess for ‘Timan’ it was a one of a kind experience, he’s still talking about it. But I’m not so sure he really realized how big his own influence was. I think he just had fun ‘crashing’ the plane.

  4. Yeah, I’m wicked jealous of the warmth – but no chocolate bunnies would make me so sad. I didn’t even buy any this year but just seeing them makes me smile.

    • They remind me so much of my childhood. And all the chocolate filled Easter eggs and the big eggs with chocolate candy inside and … you don’t know what you have until you don’t have it anymore. I m.i.s.s. chocolate. But living in paradise is nice too. 🙂

  5. I love the photo of hi kicking the ball! I think creole for Easter sounds wonderful. We had BBQ!

Leave a Reply

