Rejection turned into preference – a cheesy issue

There was a time in ‘Timan’s life when he rejected everything that looked, smelled or tasted slightly of cheese. Not quite understandable for me because I just love it, I think there is not a single cheese on the planet that I don’t like.

But no, there is one exception, and that is goat cheese.  Maybe because the taste is too strong or because of the animal, I don’t like to eat goat meat neither. Or maybe it’s the name, nothing goaty is my liking and if Hubs will grow one, I’m going to cut it off

I already wrote about ‘Timan’s distaste of dairy-products before, but I think now the time of change has come. It started subtile about two month ago when he asked all of a sudden for more milk to go with his ‘Weetabix’, even though he did not ask for milk but for water. I poured more milk and he started to spoon the milk out. I thought ‘wow, that’s almost like drinking the milk’ and offered him a cup instead. But he refused. ‘Well, that’s ok with me, he shall spoon the milk, no problem, as long as it ends up in his mouth’ I thought. And being a real toddler, he insisted on having his ‘Weetabix’ with lots of milk’ every morning,  until now.

His next step into the diary world was rather surprising. Out of the blue, one day shortly before bedtime, he asked for cheese. I thought he’s going to turn away when I’m handing him some (mild cheddar) but this time it was different. He popped it in his mouth, chewed, swallowed and asked for more. And he asks for it every day.

This is opening a whole new horizon concerning his meal variety. Now, finally, I can start to prepare gratin. I know it will take a while until he is going to accept these new meals,  he has to see it on the table for a while, nibble on it and eventually he might like it (the 10-times rule), but it’s the first step into the right direction. At this point he’s still refusing the all-time-children-favorites like ice-cream and yoghurt.

Sometimes in the past I was asking myself, is this diary aversion related to breastfeeding? I was nursing ‘Timan’ fulltime until he was 6 month old and from then on gradually less often per day until he was 22 month old. He was never drinking formula.  And breast milk does taste very different to formula or regular milk. Might this be a reason for it? Or is he just being the unpredictable toddler? Did you experience something similar with your kids? Do you think as well that breastfeeding was one of the reasons for his milk rejection? Please tell me about it.

Posted on April 15, 2011, in 'Timan', Developmental Stages, Introducing new meals, Parenting, Picky Eater, Toddler and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’m still nursing my 26 month old and he’s still on the fence about dairy… but I don’t know if it has anything to do with the nursing or not. It’s funny because he also likes a lot of milk (“lele” instead of “leche”) on his cereal and he’s gotten to the point now where he will tip his bowl up and drink it when he’s done (and then I found the bowls with a built-in straw and he LOVES it!). But cheese? Fat chance. Just this week he finally ate some queso freso (a soft, fresh mexican cheese), but only because we call it tortilla de queso…because he loves tortillas. Yogurt, though, he’s been eating for over a year and probably likes the drinkable yogurt (kefir) even more. I try to keep telling myself the pickiness will get better sooner or later!!! 🙂

    • ‘Timan’ used to love his daily yoghurt until he was about 18month old, any kind of flavor. From one day to another he stopped eating it and since then he’s even refusing to try. So I think this is a toddler thing because yoghurt doesn’t even taste slightly of milk and it’s so yummy, the poor little one has no idea what he’s missing out.

  2. I am so glad to hear this! My little guy is very picky, and this gave me hope. Thanks for sharing.

    And congrats!

    • Thanks, I start thinking that every quirky behavior concerning food my little one shows is linked to the toddlerhood. And sometimes it’s taking quite some time to ‘like’ normal kids favorites. Like ice cream, yoghurt and chocolate for example. Good for me, less to share and more for Mommy. 🙂

  3. Sounds like your cutie guy is keeping you on your toes! Never a dull moment, eh?
    I breastfed all four of my kids, and all of them love milk, yogurt, and most dairy products I put in front of them. However, they are each picky about other food in their own little ways. I won’t be a short-order cook at home, but it is challenging to satisfy all their tastes!

    Also? Melted goat cheese? Super yum! 🙂

    • So I guess his rejection and newly found love for certain things are a ‘normal’ toddler behavior.

      And about the cheese. 😉 I can put melted cheese on about anything, almost any kind of melted cheese. You can buy hundreds of different cheeses in my home country. I even love blue cheese and eat the really stinky ones (sorry, I forgot the names)

      But n.o. goat cheese, never.

  1. Pingback: What a team we are: ‘white lies’ and eating with eyes and ears « Mommy's Paradise

Leave a Reply

