The sick Mommy needs help

This was ‘Timan’ probably thinking last Saturday. And this is maybe why my little man ended up doing what he loves to do and he’s really good at it, I’m telling you.

It happened that even I came down with the same type of stomach bug the tot had suffered from a couple of days earlier. The only difference was I had it probably 100-times worse. It wouldn’t be a big deal on a Saturday if your spouse is around to pamper you take care of the little dude, right? Unfortunately my Hubs was at work, like he is almost every weekend. On top of this the already fully recovered ‘Timan’ was not happy at all he had to stay home on a bright and sunny Saturday we usually spend on the beach.

Anyway, I gathered enough strength and managed to put out something to eat and drink for the little one, started a DVD for him, grabbed a little bucket and retreated towards the bathroom where I spent literally hours leaking from every body orifice possible. Yeah, it was that bad. At this point I was still able to keep the little rascal in check with the pure power of my slowly failing voice.

While holding on to my bucket I finally dragged myself to the bedroom, collapsed on the bed and just wanted to relax, only for a couple of minutes. But out of pure exhaustion after the ordeal in the bathroom I must have fallen asleep. BIG MISTAKE.

When I woke up it was quiet. And this is ALWAYS bad around my tot. Something was going on. I knew I had to get up and check. I found the little one doing this:

Oh how sweet, he’s cleaning the house for his sick Mommy.

The only problem was, he was using glass-cleaning liquid in a spray bottle. And he was using it not only for the windows, but together with a bottle of dish-washing liquid also on the couch, the table … and my laptop. Maybe this cleaning idea grew in his little head when he realized that Mommy won’t be happy to see the foundation he found in her makeup bag in the bathroom smeared over the DVD. I believe you understand I was not able to take a picture of all this, I was outraged shocked … phoned the Hubs and ordered nicely asked him to jump in the boat and come home immediately to talk to his son. Which he did, of course.

Bottom line: our DVD is very durable and forgiving, the computer screen however doesn’t appreciate to get thoroughly soaked in Windex and turns first blotchy and later into a solid gray colour in protest.

But with the investment of US$ 200.- and a little luck to find a new laptop-screen on this island I’m in the game again. :-)

And no, I will not fall asleep anymore when my son is at home and not sleeping, never, ever, not until he’s 25 years old, at least.

What was the ‘worst’ that has happened when you accidentally fell asleep and your little one roamed through the house or decided to be helpful?

Posted on March 23, 2012, in 'Timan', Laptop, Mommy, Sick, Things I don't like and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I hope you’re feeling better by now! Being sick at the same time that you’re supposed to be watching you kids is so hard. I probably only dozed off a few times when my kids were little and mischievous and awake. I guess I should consider myself lucky that they never got into anything.

    • I think you were really lucky indeed. :-) And I promised myself to get sick only on days the Hubs is off, or to call the MIL, the neighbors, the mailman, the gardener, anybody, in the unlikely event I should fall asleep on any other day the little one is home and awake.

  2. Rach DonutsMama

    It’s so so hard to take care of little ones when you are sick. I think it’s cute that Timan did try to help with the housekeeping, but at the same time, yeah, you would’ve been happy if he’d just played with his own toys!

    • True, true. Quietly playing with his own toys while not getting distracted by Mommy’s and Daddy’s toys is my dream that won’t come true until he’s maybe 10, or 15, or maybe 25 years old and living in his own house. ;-)

  3. While he did cause quite the mess, he was just trying to help his poor Mama. It’s amazing how they know to jump in to make things all better.
    I hope that you feel better soon xoxo

    • Thanks, but it was just this one day virus, you feel like you’re dying for about 12 hours and after that just some achy joints for another day and then you’re fine. I only realized about another day later, with the screen fixed already, that that the little one actually wanted to help. Or maybe he was just trying to cover up his traces and got sidetracked. LOL

  1. Pingback: My cars are not for racing (Memories Captured) « Mommy's Paradise

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

