There is one thing I can do blindfolded and I never screw it up

Are there things in your life you can do blindfolded? Things you would never fail, even if you wanted to? Things you could do any time of the day or in the middle of the night without light? Like raid the fridge for example. ;-) I’m sure there are.

Well, here you find some of mine:

Five things I do well

• Eating chocolate. No wonder, I grew up in the country producing the very best chocolate. Seriously. If you’ve never tried Swiss chocolate, you don’t know what you are talking about. I can eat it any time, no matter what I’m doing. I just pop a piece into my mouth and woops, it’s gone. Easy.

source

And by the way, I can do the same with espresso, coffee, cappuccino and wine. I kid you not.

But on a serious note I believe there are some things I’m really good at:

• Negotiating a compromise. There is so much more in this world then just black and white. And to successfully handle the most unfavorable situation I’m trying to find the way in the middle. Maybe this is a female trait or it’s an in my genes, who knows?

• Getting what I want by being persistent and not giving up. If I really want something or want to reach something, I know how to make sure I’m getting it. I guess some people (aka the Hubs) would say I can be a pain in the neck at times.

• Scuba diving, obviously. When I was working in the diving industry it would have been very bad and dangerous if I wouldn’t have had the skills.

• Staying in shape (despite the chocolate, or maybe because of it). Unfortunately we can seldom buy the ‘real stuff’ here in Paradise, so I’m eating less of it. Or maybe it’s because I love the dark or bitter varieties most. And these are the ones that don’t stick to the ribs. ;-). But seriously, I don’t do sports, but I’m always doing something, hardly ever sit down. Luckily I don’t gain weight and can eat whatever I like. But I do eat it in moderation and I don’t overdo with the ‘unhealthy’ things, I’d rather have a salad with balsamic vinegar and olive oil and my veggies need to be crispy.

However there is always room for improvement, there are several other things I also would like to do well. I may even give them a try, but I screw up. At least it seems to me I can’t get it right. Sigh.

Five things I’d love to do better

• The whole parenting-thing. I try to do my best and I’m learning every day, but sometimes it’s rather nerve-wrecking. I believe every parent knows what I’m talking about. Luckily it already started to get better since the tot is in pre-school, maybe I just had a little parenting-burn-out and needed some time for myself.

• Having more patience and being calmer, more relaxed. I’m already doing much better then I used to do some years ago. Maybe it has to do with getting older and more mature, or maybe it has to do with being a mother.

• Cooking. Without a cookbook I’m lost, the only things I can do well are the meals I’ve done many times in the past. I’m so glad I have the Hubs. He’s the person, who puts together a splendid meal with the things he finds in the house. And this man has never ever in his life used a cookbook. My baking skills are not too bad though.

• Drawing. I would love to be able to sketch from scratch. But my drawings are always looking, hmm, a bit odd.

• Singing. I’m reasonable good under the shower, none of my neighbors has ever complained. But that’s about it.

 

I’m linking up with {Listable Life} by ‘moments that define life’:

and ‘yeah write’:

Hop over to those lovely ladies and check out the other entries if you like.


I’m curious, what are the things you can do with your eyes closed? Or maybe you want to tell me about the things you would love to do better, but just can’t do it right?

I was not compensated in any way by the company mentioned in the picture, although I wish they would send me some of their products. :-)

Posted on February 7, 2012, in Chocolate, Mommy, Scuba Diving, Things I like. Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. I am a professional chocolate eater. It’s a skill I am proud to have. :)

    I think we all want to do better at this whole parenting thing but it’s hard.

  2. What a fun list — and a great way to get to know you a little better.
    I think I’d be able to write a blog post blind-folded. I freak my kids out by typing on the keyboard while maintaining full eye contact with them and carrying on a conversation. Scary true…

    They say kids text and talk. Why can’t I type and talk???

    • Oh yes, I can do this too, typing and giving my son a stern look because he’s trying to be naughty while I’m at the computer. But I’m absolutely n.o.t. into the texting thing, it’s taking ages until I finish an SMS and I have no clue about the abbreviations. Am I too old? ;-)

  3. I’m pretty good at sleeping with my eyes closed. Beyond that, not a lot that I can think of.

  4. chosenchaosblog

    I wish I could drive with my eyes closed. I love napping in the car. Sigh.

  5. I have a hard time giving myself credit. That’s something I could DEFINITELY do better. So while I’m working on that, I’ll give you some other things I could do better:

    1) Writing – you can always improve there, right?
    2) Cooking – I’m not bad, but I want to be better.
    3) Being a Friend – I’m kind of out of practice with friendships.
    4) Being Spontaneous

    I loved this post. It really made me think :)

    Coming from Yeah Write.

    • And being a little self-critical helps you to get better, right? I think I’m quite spontaneous, my cooking pretty much sucks and friends I don’t have many. But the few I have are the ‘real’ ones. Concerning your writing, I don’t think you have to be self-critical because it’s awesome. Your a good writer, I wish I could say this about me.

  6. Ok, I can do all those things esp. eating chocolate (that one REALLY well!) – but not scuba dive! I have a fear of it. You are brave. (-:

  7. I wish that I didn’t cook from a cookbook but I love my family and respect their tastebuds ;)

  8. Nice! I could eat chocolate too. And probably open a bottle of wine…

  9. Sorry I double commented. I thought it got lost.

  10. You know what? “Parenting Skills” is code for “Adaptability.” You never get that diploma because the job is always changing. The little ones just keep growing. But that is what makes it fun, right? ;)

  11. You know what? “Parenting skill”s is code for “Adaptability.” You never reach that parenting “Golden Ring” because your little ones are constantly changing. But that’s what makes it fun, right? ;) -Ellen

    • It is fun, hmm, most of the time. ;-) That’s the reason why I became a mother. Every stage has it’s ups and downs and every day is different. But each day we can start with a blank slate and see where it brings us.

  12. I might have gotten really mad at you back there when you said you can stay in shape blindfolded. No, it’s definite. I got really mad at you.

  13. Love your list! I’m going to attempt scuba diving this spring and can’t wait. A little scared but I’ve procrastinated long enough. The class was given to me two Christmas’s ago…it’s time..lol. Couldn’t agree with you more on the parenting thing. It’s the toughest job I’ve had but also most rewarding. Bring on the chocolate at the end of the day it makes everything better;)

  14. I’m actually really good at eating chocolate too!
    I would also love to be better at the parenting thing, but as long as we’re doing our best, no complaints.

  15. We’re all works in progress. Great post…gave me a lot to think about in my own life.

  16. It’s a good think you’re talented at eating chocolate, because parenting is HARD. :)

    I had to dig around for a new pic of Timan because I haven’t been by in forever. Karin, he is SO tall and grown.

    • It’s tough. And the older ‘Timan’ is getting, the more he’s able to do himself, the more he understands and the more he’s getting into trouble. Or maybe trouble is the wrong world, but the more he can verbally insist to have things his way. And seriously, I’m so happy he’s in preschool now, meets other kids and the teachers and is not always with me 24/7. :-)

  17. We are our own toughest critic. I bet you are a wonderful mama! It does help to have a little time to yourself though :)
    Chocolate and coffee…yum.

    • You are right, if I have some hours during the day for myself the tot can take the house apart and I merely blink, well, sort of. ;-) Sometimes I forget ‘Timan’ is still a little guy and I need to treat him according to his age.

  18. I love that you added in 5 Things You’d Love to Do Better! And the first three of those are on my list of things I could do better as well. Especially cooking….it’s a sad state of culinary affairs in our household. :-) Thanks for linking up again!

  19. Don’t underestimate your own parenting skills :) I bet you are better then you think… Sometimes we are the most critical about the things that mean the most to us, and I bet of all the things you listed, parenting is at the top of the list of the ones you work the hardest at.

    (BTW, Totally can eat chocolate with a blindfold on AND with my hands tied behind my back!)

    • I hope you are right with the parenting skills. I know my flaws and I’m working on them, just sometimes my sweet little boy drives me up the walls. On the other hand it’s probably just the typical behavior of a three year old boy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

