The first day

Yesterday my little baby boy has reached another milestone. Yesterday ‘Timan’ had his first official day in ‘creche’, or preschool, or kindergarten, it’s all the same here in Paradise. From now on the tot will go to school for 5 days per week for 6.5 hours per day, for the rest of his life. No, not really, but you know what I’m talking about. And he is only 3 years, 5 month and 1 week old. Nope, I didn’t cry, really not. ;-)

Gone are the days of spontaneous trips to the beach, nobody is going to help me folding the laundry, baking new recipes, nobody is sleeping in with me until 7:30am (this has really happened, but only when I put dark towels behind the curtains to completely block out the light), but …

… different times are emerging on the horizon.

Not only will I finally be able to do a peaceful shopping spree without having anyone in the dressing room wanting to get out (to go potty or just because), I will also have blissful and relaxing times at the beach with a drink in one hand and a book in the other. And most of all the fun in playing with ‘Timan’ will come back. All my chores for the day I will have accomplished by that time and the little one will have my undivided attention. This is going to be a win/win situation for both of us. :-)

In November the tot already went to ‘creche’ for three familiarization days and even though he was happy when the three days were over, he was actually looking forward to go again. And on Sunday he told me ‘Mommy, you know, when you leave me there, I’m just gonna cry a little bit. I’m a big boy now, I’m not a baby, so I’ll stop.’

When we left home in the morning he was still in high spirits making goofy faces.

After arrival at the classroom he grabbed a toy to keep himself busy, but he was slowly getting a little uneasy.

And this time I didn’t make the mistake from the past to hang out at the school for too long. I told ‘Timan’ that I’m leaving, he stared to sob. I gave him a kiss and told him that I will pick him up in the afternoon, he started to cry. I left, he stared to scream. I waited out of his sight and after not even 2 minutes, the crying stopped. So I went back, peeked through the window and saw him peacefully playing with a truck. But I had to swallow a couple of times. Sigh.

And when I arrived in the afternoon to pick up the tot, everybody was quietly gathered around the ‘Miss’ and listening to a story.

But on the way home I realized that my legs and my behind will be super toned in no time at all because I have to climb the ‘1000’ steps up and down two times per day. ;-)

After his first official day in ‘creche’ ‘Timan’ fell asleep before I even could put on his PJ.

Let’s find out how the 2nd, the 3rd and the following days in preschool turn out. Because ‘Timan’s academic career has started now, or so we were told by the ‘Head Teacher’. She was even talking about evaluation in preschool. I guess times have changed much more than I thought they have since I was a kid.

A little late I’m linking up my tots first day at school with ‘Yeah Write’, hop over and check out the other entries if you like:

Better late then never, right?

But first, please tell me how do you feel about ‘evaluating’ the skills in early childhood?

Posted on January 24, 2012, in 'Timan', Fears and Anxieties, Mommy, Preschool and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. He’s so so cute.
    Those steps are crazy! My butt would look awesome after that.

  2. My older daughter started preschool this fall @3.5 for two mornings a week. I don’t know what I would do if I had all that free time. While I was wreck at first, now it’s nice to have that little break. Enjoy the ride!

  3. When our babies start school, it’s both happy and bad. Happy because they get to experience new things, bad because they’re growing up so FAST!

  4. :) I love your optimism in thinking that now you’ll have time to read and sip cool drinks, time to clean and cook and organize, time to think your own thoughts. I hope it works out that way for you. What usually happens is that you’re watching them at their high school graduation, wondering when you’re going to find time to read and sip cool drinks…. LOL. I’m still trying to achieve that. Both of my sons are old enough to vote.

    He has one of the most kissable faces I’ve ever seen. No wonder those sweet girls glommed onto his little misplaced cuteness. This was an adorable post. I feel your pain, Mom, and that little edge of excitement that makes the parting bearable.

  5. My son just turned two, so he’s not going to school yet. But I know it’s not far off and it’s hard to fathom, but I know what you said is true. Once they go that’s pretty much it for the next 15-20 years. Not sure how either we or he will handle that. I guess we aren’t quite ready yet.

    • Some days have passed now and ‘Timan’ really likes it. Every morning he’s looking forward to go. I think as soon as the kid fully understands that the parent will pick him up no matter what and he’s not abandoned, he starts to enjoy. And it’s amazing how many hours my day has all of a sudden, all the things I can do. :-)

  6. That first day of school is so bittersweet. They grow up much too fast.

  7. My baby is almost 2 and we found out this week he’ll start nursery in September. My first reaction was a selfish ‘i’m not ready!’ But I am noticing more and more that being at home with me is not enough. He perhaps doesn’t need but will definitely love being around other kids and having all that stimulation. So for his sake I’m ready for him to start his academic journey. I am not ready for him or any toddler to start evaluation though!

    • First I really had to digest the whole evaluation thing, apparently it’s given out by the government to every preschool in the country. I still think it’s very very early in life to be evaluated, whatever it means at this age.
      My tots preschool has lots of playing and crafting in the curriculum, but I realized that they’re not loosing time with the ‘academics’ (alphabet & numbers) either.

  8. This just made my heart sink…a…lot.
    My son starts school in september and I am really broken up about it.
    sure there will be the nice peaceful moments…but my Chunky has been my shadow for 3 years…sigh…
    So hard being a parent sometimes. They grow too fast.
    He is a doll and look at how proud he is. I wanna just squish them cheeks ;)

    • The tot has been my shadow as well, but I also realized that he needed to play with other kids.
      Today, on day no. 2, he was not really happy when I came to pick him up. He was sitting with three girls one year older and even though he doesn’t speak kreol yet, the girls took care of the ‘poor little’ boy. I guess this is universal girl-behaviour everywhere around the world. And he was clearly loving it. LOL

  1. Pingback: Ultimate Blog Party 2012 {#UBP12) « Mommy's Paradise

  2. Pingback: What are little boys made of? (Memories Captured) « Mommy's Paradise

  3. Pingback: The bucket lists « Mommy's Paradise

  4. Pingback: Life is good « Mommy's Paradise

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

