It’s Sweet Tooth Tuesday: Ginger Cookies

The Hubs, ‘Timan’ and I love Ginger. So it won’t come as a surprise that ‘Ginger Nuts’ are the cookies we probably eat the most in our house. They are ‘Timan’s favorites and they are totally milk-free. A win/win situation, because we are still fighting to keep the tot’s allergy at bay and the little one as rash-free as possible and without eczema.

But we are living in Paradise. Very often I hear ‘na pa’ in the shops. If I translate this into proper English, it would be something like ‘I’m very sorry, but unfortunately we don’t have it on stock right now. But certainly we will have it available for you in the future’. 😉

It used to give me a headache and the last time this happened I knew I had to do something. My bones started to itch and I was well aware I would have an erupting volcano at home during snack-time if I simply told the tot ‘na pa’.

I figured the only way to save the day was baking the favorite cookies myself.

Or should I say ourselves? Baking without ‘Timan’s valuable help is not possible anymore.

This time he was the one to break the egg. It’s actually very easy for a toddler to break an egg, LOL. But seriously, even without making a mess. Have him crack it on the hard kitchen counter. Then he can easily open it at the cracks himself and empty the content into a bowl.

But to roll out the dough was even more fun.

Ginger Cookies

Ingredients

2 1/3 cups (300gr) whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

2 tsp ginger, ground

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp mixed spice

3/8 cup (3 oz or 90ml) olive oil or 1/2 cup (125gr) margarine

3/4 cup (150gr) brown sugar

1/2 cup (4 oz or 120ml) honey

1 egg

Method

Preheat oven to 180C/350F/Gas 3-4

Mix and sift flour with baking soda and baking powder, add ground ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg and mixed spice and mix.

In separate bowl beat egg, beat in brown sugar until fluffy, beat in olive oil and add honey until well combined.

Start with stirring flour-mix into egg-mix, later proceed with kneading it in until combined. Wrap in plastic paper and put in fridge for an hour.

Roll out dough 1/5 – 1/4 inch (4-5mm) thick, cut out cookies with your favorite cookie cutters and place on a greased baking sheet. Put in freezer for 10 min. Bake for 12-15 min and allow to cool on the baking sheet for 2-3 min. before taking them off.

I was using olive oil because of ‘Timan’s suspected milk-allergy, but you can easily replace the oil with margarine. Feel free to use molasses instead of honey, or use half of each.

Enjoy. If you are looking for a stronger ginger taste, check out the ‘Sticky Ginger Honey Cake‘.

What is the favorite cookie your little one just must have once in a while? Is he also going for ‘Ginger Cookies’?

Posted on November 15, 2011, in 'Timan', Cakes and Stuff, Eczema, Mommy, Things I like and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi, I too have been transplanted to a tropical island, Santa Cruz Island in the Galapagos. We are located in the Pacific, just below the equator. My bundle of joy arrived in 2007. My preschool son and I also enjoy cooking together. It is the holidays and I in cookie baking mode. I found you blog because I was doing a web search to see if I can find a solution to cutout cookie problem. When I make cutout cookies you seem to get very sticky and when I try to put them on the backing sheet them lose there shape. Your cutouts look perfect. How do you avoid sticky cookie dough in warm tropical climate?

    • Galapagos sounds great. I’m so envious because you must have wonderful wildlife and superb diving. The closest I ever got to this area was Cocos Island (Costa Rica).
      But concerning the cookies, when the dough is sticky, I work with a part of it and leave the rest in the fridge. And I use flour (maybe more than usual) to prevent sticking to the working area and the rolling pin and the cookie cutters. Good luck and Happy Baking. 🙂

  2. Hi! Just discovered your blog. Ginger Cookies were the first cookie I adapted for my eldest son,15, who is allergic to dairy,egg,beef,sesame,fish,shellfish,peanut/tree nuts,raspberries and mustard. He also suffers from eczema and asthma. My youngest son, 13, has a peanut/tree nut allergy and asthma. Coincidently, this is going to be a Gingerbread baking weekend…making a Gingerbread House and Men. I have just started a blog chronicling our journey with food allergies, eczema and asthma. It’s been quite the roller coaster ride but we are surviving and thriving! Is your son just allergic to dairy? Did eliminating dairy rid him of his eczema? Susan H. @ The Food Allergy Chronicles

    • Wow, your dudes have quite some allergies and I totally believe the roller coaster ride. I’m glad you’re doing good. 🙂
      Actually no, eliminating dairy didn’t help and I don’t really think he’s has reactions because of eggs either. Unfortunately we can’t get tested here, but I believe, no I’m sure, he’s reacting to the chemicals in our tap water (chlorine, the initial trigger), and after he was running in a certain type of grass. And right now I’m trying to find out if he’s allergic or has an intolerance to corn, tomatoes, chicken and open ocean fish (Mackerel, Tuna, Bonito, Sailfish etc), he seems to be ok with bottom fish like Red Snapper, Grouper and such. I’m still in the process of finding the triggers, but I’m pretty sure all is caused by allergic reactions, it’s not entirely atopic.
      Did eliminating the allergic food help with your boys eczema?

Leave a comment