It’s Sweet Tooth Tuesday: Graham Crackers or Cinnamon Honey Cookies

Sometimes I’m in desperate need to find an activity for ‘Timan’ to keep him busy and the very same day I happen to run out of a reasonable healthy snack, what a coincidence. ;-)

Luckily there are some things I always have in the fridge or in the pantry. One of them is cinnamon. I love the smell of fresh cinnamon, it reminds me instantly of December, sipping on a mulled wine and munching on my favorite cookie ‘cinnamon stars’. Well, these are things you don’t do here, it’s too hot, it wouldn’t fit.

But we do have cinnamon trees here on the islands. Actually they are cassia trees and the finely ground or powdered bark tastes just like the rolled cinnamon bark.

Did you know that it inhibits bacterial growth and therefore food spoilage as a natural food preservative? It’s also a good source of manganese, fiber, iron and calcium.

Anyway, I had to bake. And ‘Timan’ loved to cut out the cookies.

And to enjoy them afterwards as a snack of course. :-)

Graham Crackers or Cinnamon Honey Cookies

Ingredients

4 tbsp butter, soft or 3 tbsp olive oil

1/3 cup (75gr) brown sugar

4 tbsp honey

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 tsp cinnamon, ground

1/2 tsp salt

2 1/4 cup (270gr) whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

Method

Preheat oven to 180C/350F/Gas 3-4

Mix butter or olive oil with sugar, add honey and mix, beat in egg until well blended and creamy. Add vanilla essence, cinnamon and salt, mix.

In separate bowl mix baking powder, baking soda and salt with flour.

Start with stirring flour-mix into egg mix, later proceed with kneading it in until thoroughly combined.

Roll out dough 1/8 inch (3mm) thick, cut out cookies with your favorite cookie cutters or cut out crackers. Place on a greased baking sheet, bake for  7-8 min on the first side, turn over and bake for another  4-5 min on the other side.

There is no real Graham flour available to buy here in paradise, so I use normal whole wheat flour instead.

Because ‘Timan’ keeps getting a rash or eczema on his legs and under his arms and I suspect a milk allergy as a one of the possible triggers I made another batch with olive oil instead of butter. With olive oil it’s more a cracker than a cookie, less sweet and less ‘buttery’. The tot loves it. :-)

Enjoy.

What is the reasonable healthy cookie you are giving your kids?

By the way, the leaves of the cinnamon tree (cassia tree) are often used in the ‘cuisine creole’, in ‘coconut curry’ for example. Add some roughly chopped leaves during the cooking process, like you would do with bay leaves.

Posted on November 1, 2011, in 'Timan', Cakes and Stuff, Eczema, Mommy, Things I like and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. These sound good. My kids always love helping me in the kitchen.

  2. The cookies look yummy. I need to confess that I haven’t baked cookies with my boys in almost a year…since last Christmas. I’m so lame.

  3. Strangely, I’ve never considered that someone could make their own graham crackers – I must try this!

    • A lot of things you can buy in most stores in the US or Europe you won’t find here at all, or not on a regular basis, or overpriced. Do it yourself (with trial and error), that’s the way to go. But I didn’t invent this recipe, I just adjusted it to my needs. It’s amazing what you can find on the internet. :-)

  4. I do not consider health when I bake….TRUTH….why? Because I love sugar and butter. LOL
    I do make oatmeal cookies with raisins in it…that should count right?
    i love that you are creating new recipes with what you have on the island. You rock

    • I wish I could follow my sweet tooth the way I wanted to. Sigh. But I try to stay on the healthy side, because the tot is still battling with his rash/eczema/allergy and I think milk might be one of the triggers. The Cinnamon Honey Cookies are made with butter -> #mommyfail. :-(
      So I made another batch today with olive oil. Now it tastes more like a cracker than a cookie and the tot loves them. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

