Wordless{ish} Wednesday – Uninvited guests show up for a sleep over

We have plenty of space, come all in, it’s yours anyway, my creeping and crawling friends.

***

Yes! It’s raining these days. It’s raining almost every day, not the whole day long but off and on for hours. On the good side, the quality of the tap water is improving, but …

When it’s raining, it’s pouring. You know, I’m talking about tropical showers, sheets of water falling from the sky and when you happen to be without shelter, you’re soaked to the bone. You’re still warm and reasonable comfy, but there is not a centimeter of dry skin on your body.

Well, I think not only humans don’t necessarily like it when they are getting soaked, I know for a fact that not only humans don’t like this feeling. Gazillion of others feel the same. And all of a sudden they all seek refuge in our house.

And all of them, I’m serious now, ALL OF THEM I hate from the bottom of my heart.

Starting with the little black ones. A real nuisance, because they are everywhere, show up in billions and after you got rid of them, there are more showing up.

And their little cousins, they always get into the water kettle and therefore into my tea or coffee. Yuck.

And the ones with the hairy legs, looking down at you from the top of the window.

And their sisters, really lovely when you find them taking a shower with you.

There are the ones with ‘thousand legs’, but no problem, they are harmless.

However to top it off: The ones with ‘hundred legs':

Pretty cute to look at as babies with their blue head and legs,

but they are the ones that will get you a free ride to the hospital if they bite you in your butt in the middle of the night while you’re peacefully sleeping in your bed (as happened to the Hubs).

source

Oh, how much I LOVE the tropics after days of rainfall, with all its lovely creeping and crawling inhabitants.

What are your favorite surprise guests?

(as part of Wordless Wednesdays and linked up with live and love … out loud, project alicia, parenting BY dummies, Dagmar’s Momsense, Seven Clown Circus, Tara’s view of the world, Crazy About My Baybah, Supermom Alysha, 5 Minutes for Mom, Angry Julie Monday, Better in Bulk and NapTime MomTog )

Posted on October 5, 2011, in Animals, Disturbance, Paradise, Things I don't like, Wordless{ish} Wednesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I would totally FREAK!!!!

  2. Are you KIDDING me?

    I’m the go-to pest killer around here…my groom is sort of a wuss that way…but even I cringe at the site of those little “houseguests.”

    Ew. Ew. And ew.

  3. Oh my goodness! I HATE bugs!!! All of them. Those are some scary looking suckers. Ants, I can deal with – we usually get rid of them pretty quickly. It’s the other ones that will have me sleeping with one eye open!

  4. Ack! Ew. Blurg. Eeeeee.

    I guess I should stop complaining about the occasional mosquito here in Coldland.

  5. I can’t believe you have so many – urgh, how horrible!

    • I know, but only one of each species. I just saw that you on the other hand had two of the really bad looking eight legged ones yourself. And I guess you know what that means: Babies ;-)

  6. Crap. I knew I shouldn’t have read this post. ewwww! Do you check your shoes every time before you put them on? I would!

  7. OMG, your post is giving me a panic attack. Spiders are not my friend, and we get a lot of wolf spiders in our house. Actually, we get a lot of bugs in general, due to our yard having 2 ponds and a ton of landscaping (our landlord owns a landscaping company). But the worst are the hundred leg bugs. I HATE them. Seeing one turns me into a screaming, sobbing mess. Just thinking about them is making my skin crawl.

    • I hate them too. And I’m getting in killing mood when I see them. Even the little baby one I found climbing the wall next to our door had to die after I took the photo. And if I see a big one, I bash him with a log for 5 minutes straight, until he’s flat like a sheet of paper. But other than that I’m really peaceful. :-)

  8. Omigod the spiders will scare the hell outta me!!

    • The spiders are a pain after heavy rain but they are absolutely harmless. The last one however, the centipede, this is the bad one. That’s the downside of living close to the bush. The hired pest terminators are making good business here. ;-)

  9. Holy moly. This post may give me nightmares!

  10. Oh my gosh. I would freak out and want to move. Eeek.

  1. Pingback: Of mice, DVD-technology and endless babbling « Mommy's Paradise

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

