‘O take the nasty soup away! I won’t have any soup today’

Maybe  you remember the  ‘Story of Augustus who would not have any soup’ (‘Die Geschichte vom Suppen-Kaspar’  by Heinrich Hoffmann)  from your own childhood, by being told the story or from your own experience. Well, I certainly do. And I’m sure my mom does as well ;-)

But now the same old thing is happening with my son.  I thought I was doing everything right.  Maybe I did, but maybe I should have introduced different foods, maybe I should have involved him earlier in  family dinners, maybe … , I don’t know. Having meals without lots of spices is a bit difficult here in paradise. Everybody loves the chilli and uses it in abundance. Anyhow, ‘Timan’ was never an adventurous eater, is still refusing plain cows-milk, cheese, yoghurt, ice-cream!!, chocolate!!, cereals without or with added sugar!! among many other things. All the stuff kids normally go for are a sure ‘no, no, don’t like’ for ‘Timan’. But he likes peanut-butter and bread, not combined however, each one by itself (a spoon full of peanut-butter next to a plain slice of bread, no jam of course!). He loves apples and mangos, the later he started to eat only three month ago. Any other tropical fruits such as bananas, papaya, guava, you name it, he categorically refuses.

But I have my tricks, I mix milk powder (a lot) in his apple-porridge in the morning (without added sugar of course)  and very often he’s eating his rice cooked in milk (again with lots of milk powder added).  Sometimes he likes veggi stew, sometimes he’s refusing it, sometimes he likes fish, sometimes not. He eats sausages (processed food – ‘Timan’s favorite, not mine however) prepared with onions, garlic and ginger but no pieces of chicken, beef or pork or the minced version thereof. And he loves Ginger-Cookies, the ‘spicier’ they are the better!

So this leads me to the question: Is he just being a normal Toddler? A picky eater? Or maybe both?

I know about the 10-times-rule and try to follow  it as best as I can, but the outcome still stays the same. He ends up being stuck with the same old same old for months.

Or maybe I should try something completely different and let him go hungry? As in an old saying I remember from my childhood. It goes like  ‘When the devil is hungry he’s eating fly’ when I translate it. But this would break my heart.

I don’t know anymore. I guess time will show and eventually ‘Timan’ is growing out of this developmental stage and his taste buds are going to take a turn for the better (and healthier), so I hope.

Maybe you have any experience with this issue? Please feel free to leave your comment, your support and your ideas are most welcome. Thank you so much.

Posted on January 28, 2011, in 'Timan', Developmental Stages, Introducing new meals, Parenting, Picky Eater, Toddler and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

